2006 WIAA Track And Field Championships: RELAYS

Friday, June 2 and Saturday, June 3, 2006: Memorial Stadium @ UW-La Crosse. Results.

Above left: Nicolet, Milwaukee Vincent and Milwaukee Bradley Technical in the last exchange zone of the D1 4X1 relay event. Vincent won with a time of 48.74. Vincent team members are [L-R] Casandra Edwards, Charde Mayne*, Ashanti Benson* and Kennaye Lewis*. The team members with a '*' also ran on the record setting 4x2 relay team from Vincent.

Above left: [L-R] Medford, Appleton Xavier and Milwaukee University School in the final exchange zone of the D2 4x1 relay event. Milwaukee University School set the D2 record in the preliminaries [49.62] breaking the record set by Lakeside Lutheran [49.72] in 2005. However in the finals Waukesha Catholic Memorial set the D2 record by clocking 49.38. Team members of the Catholic Memorial Crusaders are [L-R]: Megan Nigbur, Kate Andacht, Christina Gaspar, Carrie Seibel, Shannon Daggett and Molly Mingey.

Right: Shell Lake won the D3 4X1 relay race by posting a time of 50.54. Team members are Hannah Gronning, Rachel Spears, Kayla Hilman and Sami Dodge. Gronning, a junior, had a weekend to remember as she was also the D3 shot put [42. 02.50] and discus [133' 11] champion.

Milwaukee Vincent set a D1 and State record when it recorded a time of 1:41.49 in the D1 4X2 relay event. This broke the record of 1:41.76 set in 1998 by Milwaukee Technical.

Upper left: Milwaukee Vincent anchor Kennaye Lewis in the D1 4X2 finals.

Above right: Milwaukee Vincent team members. Bottom row [L-R] Sparkle Lee and Casandra Edwards. Middle Row [L-R] Coach Alexander and Alexandria Morton. Top Row [L-R] Ashanti Benson, Ashleigh Kaufmann and Kiauna Pace. Alexandria Morton who is a junior and three ninth graders [pictured with the 4x1 Vincent relay team] Ashante Benson, Charde Mayne and Kennaye Lewis were the four runners who ran on the 4x2 record setting relay team.

Above: Northwestern won the D2 4x2 relay with a time of 1:45.16. Anchor Laura Johnson is shown in lane 4. Nicole Hughes, Kristina Anderson and Naomi Nelson were also on the Northwestern 4X2 relay team. Other teams pictured are: [L-R] Lancaster, Medford, Green Bay Notre Dame, [Northwestern], Walworth Big Foot, Sturgeon Bay and Amery.

Right: Edgar won the D3 4x2 relay with a time of 1:47.86. Team members pictured are [L-R] Danielle Boehm, Michelle Zietlow, Rachel Nowak and Cassie Lehman.

Above: The winning D1 4x4 relay team from Waukesha West: [L-R] Stephanie Grant, Erin Dian, Laura Koch and Katie Maasz. The Wolverines had a time of 3:55.83 which is the fastest time run since 1982. The Waukesha West 4x4 time is now seventh on the All-Time list compiled by Mark Rongstad on the Wisconsin High School Track and Field web site.

Above left: Senior Deborah Yagow closes out her high school running career at Lakeside Lutheran by running anchor on the winning D2 4x4 relay team. Lakeside was timed in 3:58.44. Team members [L-R] are: Janelle Bagneski, Deborah Yagow, Megan Behl, Meghan Mathies, Jenna Buss and Jennifer Draeger.

Above left: Senior Ali Gilberg of Drummond running anchor on the winning D3 4x4 relay team. The Lumberjacks had a time of 4:05.89. Team members [L-R] are: Kaitland Randolph, Ali Gillberg, Jeana Pittman and Annie Gillberg.

Nine of the 10 runners pictured on the left and above will be back next year. The Middleton 4X8 relay team is comprised of grades 9-11 while the West Salem 4x8 team has only one senior. Middleton ran to a 9:22.17 [Middleton moved up to the #4 position on the All-Time list for the 4x8 relay] clocking in winning the D1 4x8 relay event while West Salem recorded a 9:33.39 to win the D2 4x8 championship.

Above: Middleton D1 4x8 relay members [L-R] Front row Kristie Lutz and Caroline Brooks. Back row Leah Coyle, Brittany Glassburn, Maggie Bollig and Tessa Pulvermacher. Middleton moved up to the #4 position on the All-Time list for the 4x8 relay.

Above: West Salem D2 4x8 relay members [L-R] Courtney Oldenburg, Rae Davis, Courtney Rucker, and Christina Reischl.

Fall Creek won the D3 4x8 relay event in 9:50.82. Senior Jenna Hanson of Fall Creek [white jersey with green logo] is shown during the first leg of the relay. Team members [L-R] are: Julia Schiefelbein, Katie Hanson, Jenna Hanson, and Windy Santa Cruz.