14th Annual Senior All-Star Spotlight Meet

Saturday, June 9, 2012 at Joliet [IL] Memorial Stadium. Results: Boys | Girls | Information

The University of St. Francis [Jo;it, IL] hosted the Senior All-Star Spotlight Meet at Joliet Memorial Stadium. Top athletes from Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin competed at the annual event. Prior to this years event the meet had been held at Northern Iowa University in Cedar Falls and at UW-Platteville the last three years. Team Wisconsin is pictured above.

Above L-R: 3200m winner Sarah Poirier [Wausau West, 11:25.94], Katilyn Nelson [ Team Iowa, 800m event], Lauren Holtz [Homestead, 4th in 800m , 2:20.07], and 800m winner Kayla Anderson [Verona, 2:14.12]. Temperatures were in the low 90's on a cloudless day.

Above 100m HH athletes L-R: Brooke Foreman [Team Iowa, 2nd], Ashley Robinson [Team Illinois, 4th], winner Taylor Twedt [Team Iowa, 15.38], Tessa Thurs [Edgar, 3rd, 16.02], and Alyssa Cunningham [Team Iowa, 5th].

Below: Colleges and some states including Iowa run the 400m hurdle event instead of the 300m hurdle race. Below L-R 400m hurdlers: Audrey Bolinger [Team Iowa,2nd, 1:05.15], Tessa Thurs [Edgar, 1st, 1:05.00], and Jenna Brandhorst [Team Iowa, 3rd]

The Team Wisconsin 4x8 opened the meet with a win posting a time of 9:40.93. Relay runners above L-R: Molly Hanson [Dodgeville-Mineral Point], Annaliese Cramer [Lodi], Emily Gapinski [Sheboygan North], and anchor Lauren Holtz [Homestead].

On Friday night at Joliet in the Midwest Distance Festival Molly Hanson won the 800m run in 2:11.48

Molly Hanson [Dodgeville-Mineral Point].

Annaliesa Cramer [Lodi] and Hanson

Emily Gapinski [Sheboygan North]

Lauren Holtz [Homestead] and Gapinski.

Above 4x1 [49.51] and 4x2 [1:44.89] winners from Team Wisconsin L-R: Nicole Masterson [Whitewater], Becky Burhop [Slinger], Faryn Wirkus [Edgar], and anchor Jessie Reineck [Fox Valley Lutheran].

Below left: 2nd leg 4x2 runner Becky Burhop [Slinger]. Below right: 4x2 anchor Jessie Reineck [Fox Valley Lutheran].

Above: 4x2 last exchange shows Faryn Wirkus [Edgar] and anchor Jessie Reineck [Fox Valley Lutheran]

Above: Exchange 2 of the 4x1 shows Becky Burhop [Slinger] getting the baton to Faryn Wirkus [Edgar]

Below: 4x1 final exchange has Faryn Wirkus handing off to anchor Jessie Reineck [Fox Valley Lutheran]

In the 4x4 relay Team Iowa edged Team Wisconsin 4:00.36 to 4:00.38. Team Wisconsin 4x4 relay runners were Jessie Reineck [Fox Valley Lutheran], Emily Gapinski [Sheboygan North], Kayla Anderson [Verona] amd anchor Tessa Thrus.

Above team Wisconsin throwers L-R: Hannah Considine [Portage], Alssa Lueck [Big Foot], Heather Clankie [Brodhead-Juda], Molly Griep [Whitewater], and Kailee Kamps [Belmont].

Below L-R: Kaille Kamps [Belmont], Molly Griep [Whitewater], and Heather Clankie [Brodhead-Juda]

Photos above and below by Dean Blahnik

Above L-R: Alssa Lueck [Big Foot], Kailee Kamps [Belmont], and Molly Griep [Whitewater]

Above left discus athlets L-R: Heather Clankie [Team Wisconsin, 2nd, 134' 07]. Katelyn Weimerskirch [Team Iowa, 1st, 140' 09], and Kailee Kamps [Team Wisconsin, 3rd, 127' 09].

Above right SP athletes L-R: Kailee Kamps [Team Wisconsin, 2nd, 44' 06.00], Amanda Houston [Team Iowa, 1st, 44' 10.00], and Molly Griep [Team Wisconsin, 3rd, 41' 06.00].

Above high jump athletes from Team Wisconsin L-R: Taylor DePerry [Shawano Community], and Rebecca Reiche [Marathon].

Above high jump athletes L-R: Team Iowa's Tayo Ajose [Mediapolis HS, 2nd, 5' 07] and Ajose and Jaclyn Aremka [Plainfield North HS] from Team Illinois congratulate each other at the end of the HJ event. Both jumpers cleared 5' 07 with Aremka winning on fewer misses. After accumlating enough credits Ajose graduated a year early from high school.

Ajose was first in the D1 Iowa State Meet on May 19th [5' 07] while Armeka was 3rd [5' 06] in the Illinois 3A Meet May 19.

Above: Team Wisconsin vaulter Faryn Wirkus won the PV event [11' 06]. Wirkus is shown [above left] with Carolina Carmichael [left, Team Illinois, 2nd 11' 06] and Ashley Thomas [Team Illinois [right, 3rd, 10' 06].

Above LJ athletes L-R: Winner Tessa Thurs [Edgar, 17' 02.25] and second place finisher Chantel Blair [Team Iowa, Scranton HS in Jefferson, IA, 17' 01]. Blair was 2nd in Iowa [17' 11.25] in Division 2A.

Above TJ athletes L-R: Hannah Considine [Portage, 5th], Ninah Divine [Madison East, 4th], Tessa Thurs [Edgar, 3rd, 35' 10.50].

Team Illinois athlete Chaz Duson set a new Spotlight Meet TJ record when she broke the record of 39' 09.25 set by Breana Scanner of Team Illinois in 2007. Duson soared 40' 08.00, At the Illinois State Meet in Divison 3A on May 19 Duson won the Gold Medal with a distance of 40' 0.625. Duson is from Rich Central HS in Olympia Fields, Illinois.

Above 400m hurdle athletes L-R: Audrey Bolinger [Team Iowa, 2nd, 1:05.15] and 400m hurdle winner Tessa Thurs [Edgar, 1:05.00 .

Left 3200m runners: Sarah Poirier [Wausau West , #2, 1st], Emily Brush [Team Iowa, 4th], Charlotte Walsh [Team Illinois, 2nd] and Ali Krogman [Team Iowa, 3rd].