2014 Nelson-Daniels Classic: Large Schools - Track Events

Saturday, March 22, 2014 at UW-Whitewater. Results


Woodstock , IL, won the 4x8 in 10:05.10. Middleton was second in 10:15.51

4x8 runners above L-R: Morgan Meier was runner 1 for the Beaver Dam. Also shown are runners Maura Beattie from Woodstock, IL, and Andi Kobrick from Crystal Lake South, IL. Middle 4x8 runners Bobbi Pattrick, Lacey Heaver, Jenny Mangas, asnd anchor Samantha Valentine.

Wisconsin Track Online Feature For 2014

An incredible finish in the 4x2 relay highlighted the Nelson Daniel Classic Large Schoool Meet. Last season Cary-Grove, IL, anchor Morgan Schultz [above left] ran a blazing anchor lap to give her team a win over Milwaukee King by .05 seconds. This season Cary-Grove's opponent was Brookfield East. The East Spartans anchor Alisha Harper held off Schultz in a near instant replay of the 2013 finish to give her Brookfield East 4x2 relay team a win by .02 seconds. Brookfield East was timed in 1:47.75. while Cary-Grove posted a 1:47.77. Both athletes took hard falls at the finish but were luckily uninjured.

Brookfield East 4x2 runners above L-R: Adrianna Gibbs, Angela Schmidt, Allie Bullen, and anchor Alisha Harper

Above L-R: Beloit Memorial 4x2 runners Yolanda Johnson and Raevin Peek, Brookfield East runners Allie Bullen and Angela Schmidt [hidden], Cary-Groves Morgan Schultz closing on Brookfield East anchor Alisha Harper with 40 meters to go in the race.

Above 4x2 runners L-R: Hannah Buske [Waukesha South], Waukesha North runners Courtney Johnson and Emma Abraham, Divine Savior Holy Angel runners Kari Borowski and Katie Wissing, and Beaver Dam runners Bobbi Jo Helgemoe and Aubrynn Vander Velde.

Above left: Beaver Dam 4x8 runner Maria Martinz-Ponce

Heat 3 of 3 of the 1600m run L-R: Sarah Riley [Cary-Grove, IL], Talia Duzey [Cary-Grove, IL], Ann Sekutowski [Kettle Moraine], Anna Roghan [Wauwatosa West], Christine Mujica [Niles West, IL], Amanda Johnson [Racine Park], Marlie Houston [Oconomowoc], and Natalie Schudrowitz [Wauwatosa East].

Wauwatosa East senior Natalie Schudrowitz [left] posted a 5:10.08 to win the 1600m race.

Above 1600m runners L-R: Marlie Houston [Oconomowoc, 2nd], Amanda Johnson [Racine Park, 3rd], and Ann Sekutowski [Kettle Moraine, 5th].

Above start of the 55m finasls L-R: Alexis Redd-Triggs [Milwaukee King, 6th], Cheri A Adams [Wauwatosa West, 4th], winner Azya McLin [Wauwatosa West, 7.26], Mercy Ndon [Wauwatosa West, 3rd], Yadiah Stallworth [DSHA, 2nd], and Adriana Gibbs [Brookfield East, 8th].

Azya McLin [Left, #5] from Wauwatosa West tied a Nelson Daniel Classic Large School Meet record in the 55m dash.

The record of 7.26 was set in 2010 by Niles West [Illinois] runner Kellion Gordon.

Divine Savior Holy Angels ninth grader Yadiah Stallworth [Left, #3] was second in the 55m dash with a time of 7.35.

Cary-Grove, IL won the meet with 80 points. Brookfield East scored 46 points, Middleton 40 points, and Wauwatosa West 37 1/2 point to finish as the top Wisconsin schools in the 24 team meet.

Jasmine Watson

55mDash Athlete

Brookfield East

Athlete of the Meet winner Sydnee Matthew [Above left], Milwaukee King was 3rd in the 55m HH [8.83]. Cary-Grove's Eva Burk [Above center]won the 55m HH in 8.70. Kettle Moraine senior Taylor Weis was 4th in the 55m HH [9.17].

55m hurdle athles above L-R: Kelsey Linsmeier [Brookfield East, 7th], Europa Christoffel [Verona], and Lindsay Steffan [Kettle Moraine]

Oconomowoc hurdler Yulia Potter-Nichols

Above: 400m long dash athletes L-R: Nyiera Golden [Milwaukee King], Alyssa Lemirande [Middleton, 4th], and Shauna Malchine [Waterford, 5th].

Left 400m dash athletes L-R: Rosalie Campbell [Germantown, 3rd], Jane Nienhuis [Oconmowoc, 2nd in 1:03.69], and winner Natalie Gottschalk [Waukesha South, 1:03.49].