WIAA D2 Regional At Monroe

Monday, May 23, 2016 at Monroe High School. Results.


Regional qualifiers from Lancaster, Mayville, Monroe, and Wisconsin Dells will compete in the McFarland Sectional. Monroe coach Matt Davis and his staff hosted the D2 regional at Monroe.

Teams from Belleville/New Glarus, Brodhead/Juda, Cambridge, Clinton, Edgerton, Evansville, Jefferson, Monroe, and Beloit Turner competed to fill the four qualifying spots in each event that will allow them to compete at the sectional.

Multiple winners were Ashlyn Oren [Edgerton, 100, HJ], Sydney Currie [Cambridge, 400, 800], Mikaela Grant [Jefferson, HH, LJ, 4x4], Jordan Hirsbrunner [Monroe, 300m LH, anchor 4x2], Taylor Bluemel [Brodhead-Juda, 1600, 4x8 relay], Emily Stendel [Jefferson, SP, Discus], and the Monroe 4x1 and 4x2 relay teams.

The meet enjoyed ideal weather. Umbrellas were used to keep the sun away.

The hurdle races provided outstanding meet highlights. Jordan Hirsbrunner [below left] a junior from Monroe won the 300m in an All-Division best time of 44.51 while senior Mikaela Grant [below right] from Jefferson posted an All-Division best time of 14.60 in the 100m HH event. Grant also had a 44.85 in the 300m LH as she pushed Hirsbrunner to the limit in that race.

Hirsbrunner broke the TR Holyoke Field record in the 300m LH event . That record of 45.84 had been set in 2001 by Edgewood's Marianne Junck.

Wisconsin Track Online Feature For 2016

Above 100m HH finals L-R: Casey Reilly [Monroe, 4th], Krista Diaz [Belleville/New Glarus, 2nd], winner Mikaela Grant [Jefferson, 14.60], and Emily Hottinger [Jefferson 3rd]. Grant not only set a Jefferson School Record but she broke the TR Holyoke Field record of 15.00 set by Janesville Parker's Shelby Demos in 2007.

Grant and Hirsbruner gave Regional fans a highlight as Hirsbrunner posted a 44.51 in placing first. Grant's 2nd place time was 44.85

Above 300m hurdles L-R: Mikaela Grant, Jordan Hirsbrunner, Emma Hahn [Clinton, 3rd], and Emily Hottinger [Jefferson, 4th]

Above 100m dash athletes L-R: Winner Ashlyn Oren [Edgerton, 12.35] and finalists Kiara Donnell [Belleville/New Glarus, 4th], Kayla Miller [Jefferson, 8th], Josie Eberle [Monroe, 3rd], Oren, and Destiny Wash [Turner, 2nd].

Above 200m dash athletes L-R: Lovia Clark [Turner, 2nd] and Logan Fahey [Belleville/New Glarus, 4th].

Right 200m dash athletes L-R: Nikkia Johnson [Edgerton, 3rd] and winner Madee Harding [Brodhead/Juda, 26.12]. Note~ Photos from the preliminaries.

Left 400m dash winner Sydney Currie [Cambridge, 1:02.31].

Above 400m dash athletes L-R: Madee Harding [Brodhead/Juda, 2nd], Brittany Kramer [Turner, 3rd], and Morgan Tresemer [Brodhead/Juda, 4th].

Above left: 800m run winner Sydney Currie [Cambridge, 2:18.98, photo from the 400m dash]. Above right: 3200m run winner Noelle Maire [Belleville/New Glarus, 11:38.74, photo from the 1600m]

Left: 1600m run winner Taylor Bluemel [Brodhead/Juda, 5:17.34].

Above 1600m runners L-R: Mariah Linse [Jefferson, 3rd], Noelle Maire [Belleville/New Glarus, 2nd], and Jessica Jurcek [Jefferson, 4th].

Brodhead/Juda won the 4x8 relay in 9:51.72

Relay runners above L-R:

Taylor Bluemel, Amber Pickel, Cameron Novy, and anchor Cora Purdue

Above: 4x8 relay runners

Above: 4x8 relay runners

Left: Brodhead/Juda 4x8 anchor Cora Purdue takes the baton from Cameron Novy. Purdue was 2nd in the 800m run.

Above: Jefferson 4x8 anchor Calli Linse. Linse was 3rd in the 800m run.

Above left: 4x2 Monroe runner Abby Oudinot running leg 2 of the Monroe 4x2. Monroe set a school record when it won the 4x2 in 1:45.89. Above right: Oudinot prepares to take the baton from Monroe leg 1 4x2 runner Isabel Bazley.

Left: Monroe 4x2 anchor Jordan Hirsbrunner.

Right: Hirsbrunner takes the baton from Monroe leg 3 4x2 runner Cammi Ganshert.

Below: 4x1 Relay Final Exchange

Monroe also won the 4x1 relay in 51.29.

Monroe anchor Cammi Ganshert heads into the straighaway after taking the baton form Monroe leg 3 4x1 runner Abby Oudinot.

Edgerton [Tider logo] finished 2nd in 51,81 followed by Belleville/New Glarus [far right] and Jefferson.

Monroe 4x1 runners were Josie Eberle JR, Isabel Bazley SR, Abby Oudinot SR, and anchor Cammi Ganshert FR.

Mikaela Grant [Jefferson] set a school record of 18' 07.75 on the jump above

Turner's Hannah Miller won the TJ [34' 10]. Miller is shown in the LJ

Above horizontal jump athletes L-R: Ashlyn Oren [Edgerton, 2nd in LJ], Alicia Kuester [Monroe, 3rd in LJ, 4th in TJ], Lovia Clark [Turner, 4th in LJ], and Emily Becker [Jefferson, 2nd in TJ].

Left: HJ winner Ashlyn Oren [Edgerton, 5' 02]. Oren had no misses at 5' 02.

Above and right: Jordan Hirsbrunner was 2nd in the HJ [Monroe, 5' 02]. Hirsbrunner had one miss before making 5' 02.

Above HJ athletes L-R: Elyssa Stein [Cambridge, 3rd], Madde Harding [Brodhead/Juda, tie for 4th], and Faith Koester [Monroe, tie for 4th].