79th Annual Midwest Invitational

Saturday, September 24, 2016 at Janesville. Results


Forty Girls Varsity teams consisting of 258 runners competed at the Blackhawk Golf Course in Janesville at the 79th Annual Midwest Invitational Cross Country Meet hosted by Janesville Craig. In addition races were held for junior varsity teams, ninth-tenth grade teams, and middle school teams. In addition for the first time ever a 'community' race was held prior to the start of the high school races. Course Map.

Laura Beghin [right] a ninth grader from Wisconsin Dells sped to an early lead and won the varsity race in 18:14.2. Sun Prairie, Arrowhead, Neenah, and Kimberly finished 1-4.

In the communiuty race two participants were Mandy Slaback [above right] a former Janesville Parker runner and Laurie Finke [above left] from Janesville. Finke who did not run X-Country in high school promotes running in Janesville through her Run Janesville group.

Above top and below: Start of the varsity girls race.

Wisconsin Track Online Feature For 2017

Above and below: Runners in the early part of the race.

Left: Winner Laura Beghin took an early lead and held on to become the Champion of the 79'th Annual Midwest Invitational Grils Varsity Race.

Below: The top 36 runners in the Girls Varsity Race.

1 Laura Beghin - Wisconsin Dells

2 Megan Olshanski - Arrowhead

3 Trista Pringle - Sun Prairie

4 Noelle Maire - Belleville

5 Erin Sorg - Delavan Darien.

6 Autumn Dushack - Sun Prairie

7 Izzy Owca - Madison Memorial

8 Peyton Sippy - Janesville Craig

9 Bailey Cronin - Beloit Memorial

10 Hannah Ray - Sun Prairie

11 Olivia Eisch - Kimberly

12 Madelyn Lee - Oconomowoc

13 Krista Baumgartner - Neenah

14 Abigail Helwig - Neenah

15 Anna Wozniak - Stoughton

16 Julia Wesley - Arrowhead

17 Allisan Barrett - Whitewater

18 Jada Donaldson - Beaver Dam

19 Kayla Vogt - Arrowhead

20 Katie Rose Blachowicz - Sun Prairie

21 Ashlyn Barry - Burlington

22 Maddie Wood - South Milwaukee

23 Anna Hayes - Arrowhead

24 Maddie Thompson - Sun Prairie

25 Lauren Shanks - Janesville Craig

26 Emily Royston - Waunakee

27 Kaylan Marshall - Sun Prairie

28 Vivian Hacker - Madison West

29 Sydney Peterson - Arrowhead

30 Olivia Chapman - Arrowhead

31 Paige Schilling - Darlington

32 Jane Straka - Arrowhead

33 Sophia Gentile -Kenosha Bradford

34 Ashtyn Johnson - Kimberly

35 Mackenzie Kauffman - Boscobel

36 Mada Laundrie - Kimberly

Above: Start of the 9/10 race [108 runners].

Below: Second place 9/10 runner Catie Gage [Janesville Parker, #4793] and 9/10 winner Ashley Kachrik [#4960, Warren HS, Gurney, Illinois]