2017 Nelson-Daniels Classic: Large Schools

Saturday, March 18, 2017 at UW-Whitewater. Results


The Nelson-Daniels Track and Field Classic will be missing a long time official. Steve Barr [above center] died on December 8, 2016. Steve was a familiar figure at Madison area track and field meets, the W/TFA Meet, as well as the State Meet in La Crosse. His humor and understanding helped many a nervous athlete get through their first big meet experience. Steve will be missed but his memories will live on in track and field. Steve [above center] is pictured at the 2006 W/TFA held at the 'Shell' on the campus of UW-Madison. In 2007 the W/TFA meet moved to UW-Whitewater. Steve Barr had run in or worked at W/TFA meets since 1957, the first year for the meet.

Right: Steve Barr starting a race at the 2013 W/TFA Indoor Championships. Jon Masson Madison.Com article.

Wisconsin Track Online Feature For 2017

2017 Nelson Daniels Classic: Large Schools Track Events

Left: 1600m runners early in the race L-R: Maddie Lee [Oconomowoc], Trista Pringle [Sun Prairie] and 2nd place finisher Peyton Sippy [5:15.70] from Janesville Craig.

Above center: Maddie Lee [3rd, Oconomowoc]. Above right L-R: Mara Bajic [8th, Kettle Moraine] and Hamilton's Rachel Jeffers [7th].

The 4x800m race was a terrific race with both Hamilton and Sun Prairie finishing in 10.13.42. However the Chargers edged the Cardinals by 7/1000'ths of a second: 10:13.413 to 10:13.420. Note-.413 is 'rounded up' to .420.

Right: Anchors Maddie Thompson from Sun Prairie and Rachel Passow from Hamilton.

4x200m relay exchanges

Hamilton's Elizabeth Behrndt hands of to leg 3 runner Megan Jansett while Waukesha South's Lailia Johnson hands off to teammate Kaylee Gessay.

Official Steve Barr [2013] with long time clerk of course Bill Sydow.

Waukesha North sprinter Michaela Pryor [left] tied the 55m dash meet record of 7.26 set by Tosa West's Azya McLin in 2014. Pryor is shown in the prelims with Yadiah Stallworth [DSHA].

Above L-R: Kathryn Pecha [Franklin] and Kaylee Geesay [Waukesha South].

Above 55m dash athletes L-R: Regne Nash [Racine Park], Tyra Turner [Madison La Follette], Jestine Green [Waukesha South], and Watertown's Kylie Jacobs.

Twenty-three girls teams from Illinois and Wisconsin competed in the meet. Cary-Grove HS [Illinois] won the meet with 59 points followed my Sussex Hamilton, Brookfield East and Wauwatosa East.

Left: 55m HH Champion Brooklyn Blackburn from Wauwatosa East.

She posted a 8.88 to win the event and was followed by Sun Prairie's Jada Schuh [9.10, above].

Above 55m HH athletes L-R: Yolanda Johnson [3rd, Beloit Memorial], Eleni Tongas [4th, Brookfield East], and Beaver Dam's Klahryssa Heinzen who was 6th.

Below L-R: Jadin O'Brien [7th, Divine Savior Holy Angels] and Franklin's Haley Pyan.

Nelson Daniels Large School Meet defending 400m champion and record holder [2016, 58.52] Bianca Stubler raced to a clocking of 58.83 to repeat. Stubler is shown above left and above right with 2nd place finisher Emily Breider [59.99] from Brookfield East.

Above L-R: Longtime meet officials Robert Kern [Milwaukee, started in 1973] and Richard Lambrecht [Janesville, started in 1963].

Left 400m runners L-R: Abby Wood [3rd, Wauwatosa East], Kaytlin Eder [8th, Madison La Follette], Kylie Jacobs [4th, Watertown], and Kettle Moraine's Alysa Pausha [6th].

Above left: Kacy Fisher finished 2nd in the 800m run [2:27.52, photo from the 1600m running event]. The event was won by Anika Brennan [2:26.27, Jones College Prep HS of Chicago].

Above center: Trista Pringle from Sun Prairie won the 1600m run in 5:14.71.

Above right: DSHA runner Millie Bretl won the 3200m run in 11:51.99. She is shown in the 4x800m relay event.

Left 1600m runners L-R: Paige White [12th, Beaver Dam], Taya Herrara [19th, Waukesha South], and Grace Dragiewicz [9th, Waukesha South].

There were 37 1600m runners.

Right 1600m runners L-R: Kacy Fisher [10th, Wauwatosa East] and Hailey Migliano [11th, Franklin].

The Chargers from Sussex Hamilton swept all three relay events. They started the meet by winning the 4x800m relay in 10:13.42. Relay members above L-R:

Chelsea Parker, Carolyn Troutman, Taylor Fuerstenberg, and anchor Rachel Passow

Below: 4x8 relay runners.

Above left: Hamilton 4x200m anchor Morgan Price finishes as the Chargers posted a 1:49.87 to win the 4x200m race. Relay members above from Hamilton L-R:

Amanda Hammond, Elizabeth Behrndt, Megan Jansett, and anchor Morgan Price

4x200m relay starts and exchanges