2018 Senior All-Star Track Meet

Saturtday, June 9, 2018. at the University of Dubuque. Results


Team Iowa broke a two year string of Wisocnsin team championships with a 103 to 67 win over Team Wisconsin. The Meet was held at Chalmers Field on the campus of the University of Dubuque. Head University of Dubuque coach Chad Gunnelson and his staff and team hosted and worked the meet. Team Iowa set records in the 400m, 400m hurdles, the 4x400m relay and the 1600m sprint relay in winning the meet. Note - 2018 was the last Senior All-Star meet. Iowa will have a State All-Star Meet of Iowa athletes while Wisocnsin in 2019 is having a ninth grade 'State Meet.'.
100m Dash
100m dash L-R: Julianne Barkholz [Newman Catholic, 6th], Yamia Ailes-Primes [Team Iowa, 2nd 12.46],winner Emily Vos [Team Iowa, 12.43], Ellie Matson [Team Iowa, 4th], Louisa Marxen [Fox Valley Lutheran, 5th], and Brooklyn Schyvinck [Reedsburg, 3rd, 12.52]

Brooklyn Schyvinck

Louisa Marxen

Julianna Barkholz

200m Dash
Team Iowa's Sydeny Milani [far right] from Des Moines Southeast Polk High School [Iowa State recruit] won the 200m dash in 24.08. At the Iowa Meet she ran Iowa all-time bests in the 100m [11.49], 200m [23.68], 400m [52.90], and won the 800m run in 2:10.36. Runners above L-R: Kayla Vogt [Arrowhead, 6th], Julianna Barkholz [Newman Catholic, 3rd, 25.23], Brooklyn Schvinck [2nd, 24.83], and Milani.
400m Long Dash
Team Iowa's Sydney Milani set a record in the 400m dash with a time of 53.56. This broke the All-Star record of 55.88 set by Shannon Beelendorf from Team Illinois in 2004.
400m runners above L-R:
Kayla Vogt [Arrowhead, 2nd in 56.49], Mara Schroeder [Ashwaubenon, 4th, 57.52], Grace Proesch [Team Iowa, 5th].and Sierra Long [Team Illinois, 3rd 57.06]
800m and 1600m Run
Team Wisconsin's Alexis Reichardt [Port Washington[ is shown above left in the 1600m] and 800m [above right] run events. She was 2nd in the 800m [2:25.20] and 3rd in 1600m [5:38.34] The heat and humidity of the day provided an extra challenge to the distance runners. Team Iowa's Lily Campbell [not shown, 2:18.82] won the 800m. In the 1600m Team Iowa's Amelia Lesher was 1st [2nd from left, 5:27.86] and teammate Paige Holub [far left] was 2nd.
100m High Hurdles
100m HH L-R: Emily Hottinger [Jefferson, 9th], Julia Pokorny [Shell Lake, 7th], and Team Iowa's Anna Keplinger [8th]
100m hurdlers above L-R
Sydney Armijo [Green Bay Preble [5th], Emma Lawrence [BSMS, 4th], winner Sydney Winger [Team Iowa, 14.40], and 2nd place finisher Alexis Jackson [Oregon, 14.41]
400m Hurdles
Above 400m hurdles L-R: Team Iowa's Payton Wensel who set a new record [1:01.82] breaking the Team Illinois record of 1:02.64 set by Crystal Sanders in 2000. Team Wisocnsin runners Emma Lawrence [BSMS, 6th], Alexis Jackson [Oregon, 4th], Arrowhead's Sarah Edwards who was 3rd in 1:04.64, and Mariah Kahl [Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld, 5th]. Iowa runs the 400m hurdles instead of the 300m hurdles.
4x100m Relay
Team Iowa won the 4x100m relay in 49.32. Team Wisconsin was 2nd in 49.55.
Wisconsin runners above L-R: Exchanges 2 Isabelle Heinz [Berlin] and Abigail Cibulka [Grafton]. Exchange 1: Abigail Cibulka and Louisa Marxen [Fox Valley Lutheran]
Final exchange in the 4x1: Isabella Heinz [Berlin] hands off to anchor Mykenzie Vaassen [Cuba City]
4x200m Relay
Team Iowa won the 4x200m relay in 1:44.10 with Team Wisocnsin 2nd in 1:44.60. Team Wisconsin runners above L-R:
Anchor Mykenzie Vaassen, Isabella Heinz, Abigail Cibulka, and Louisa Marxen
4x400m Relay
Team Iowa set a record in the 4x400m relay with a blazing 3:46.84 [Milani was the anchor]. The old record of 3:53.64 was set in 2009 by Team iowa.
Team Wisconsin runners were 2nd in 3:55.03 L-R:
Brooklyn Schvinck [Reedsburg], Stephanie Sowin [Xavier], Mara Schroeder [Ashwaubenon], and anchor Kayla Vogt [Arrowhead]
1600m Sprint Medley Relay [200, 200, 400, 800]
The 1600m Sprint Relay and Hurdle Shuttle relay are part of the Iowa State Track meet program. Team Iowa set a record with a clocking of 4:03.44. [See Wisconsin Odd Relays].
This broke the Team Wisconsin record of 4:06.27 set in 2016.
Team Wisconsin runners L-R:
Alexis Reichard , Julianna Barkholz, Isabella Heinz, and leadoff runner Stephanie Sowin
4x100m High Hurdle Shuttle Relay
Team Iowa won the Shuttle Hurdle relay in 1:02.81 while Team Wisconsin was 2nd in 1:03.24.
Hurdlers L-R:
Emma Lawrence
, Julia Pokorny, Sydney Armijo, and anchor Alexis Jackson
Shot Put
Team Wisconsin shot put athletes L-R:
Skye Digman [Platteville, 2nd, 42' 08], winner Brianna Leahy [BSMS, 43' 07], and Emma Richards [Ozaukee ,3rd, 42' 06]

Emma Richards

Dacoda Zimmerman [Racine Horlick, 4th]

Brooke Kary [Kettle Moraine Lutheran, 6th]

The Top 3 Discus Throwers
Lea Grady [Team Iowa, 2nd, 148' 01], winner Emma Richards [Ozaukee, 152' 11], and Natalie Mohring [DC Everest, 3rd, 143' 02]

Emily Stendel [Jefferson, 6th]

Skye Digman [Platteville, 7th]

Brilyn Brecka [Alma/Pepin, 9th]

High Jump
West Bend East's Annie Guerrero was 3rd with a height of 5' 04

Megan Durbin [above] and Maria Gorham from Team Iowa
Tied for 1st at 5' 06

Annie Guerrero ~ West Bend East

Alexis Reichardt [Port Washington, 4th, 5' 02]

Pole Vault
Wisconsin Lutheran vaulter Hailey Orlowski was the PV winner 12' 00.

Hailey Orlowski [WISCO]

Julia Pokorny [Shell Lake, 2nd 11' 00]

Katherine Watson [New Berlin Eisenhower]

Long Jump

Long Jump winner Stephanie Sowin [Xavier]

Stephanie Sowin [18' 00.50, 1st]

Alexis Jackson [Oregon, 3rd]

Julianna Barkholz [Newman Catholic, 4th]

Mackenzie Vaassen [Cuba City, 5th]

Louisa Marxen [Fox Valley Lutheran, 6th]

Emily Hottinger [Jefferson, 7th]

Abigail Cibulka [Grafton, 9th]

Kelsey Georgeson [Mauston, 10th]

Triple Jump

Winner Kelsey Georgeson [Mauston, 36' 11.50]

Kelsey Georgeson

Emma Lawrence [BSMS, 3rd]