Big '8' Conference Meet

Friday, May 13, 2022 at Monterey Stadium -Janesville. Results

Janesville Parker hosted Beloit Memorial, Janesville Craig, Madison East, Madison La Follette, Madison Memorial, Madison West, Middleton, Sun Prairie, and Verona Area at Janesville's historic Monterey Stadium. A severe storm front Friday night with lightning caused the Big 8 Meet to be delayed until Saturday Morning, May 14. The two day meet ended on Saturday with Madison Memorial edging Sun Prairie 154.50 to 147.50 for the team title. Middleton, Verona Area, host Janesville Parker, and Janesville Craig followed in places 3-6. some of the highlights produced by the athletes are shown above L-R: Janesville Craig's Rylee Coleman [800m & 4x8 Champion], Ana Ashworth from Madison Memorial [100m HH & 4x2 Champion], Dakota Mitchell from Sun Prairie 200m Champion, and Middleton's Lauren Pansegrau Champion in the 1600 and 3200 events.
4x800m Relay
The Janesville Craig 4x8 won the first race of the day in 9:54.74. Teammembers above L-R: Kera Riley, Abi Anderson, Julianna Moran, and anchor Rylee Coleman. Coleman who won the Silver Medal in the D1 800m event at the 2021 WIAA State Meet ran a blazing anchor leg to help the Cougars to the win. Temperatures were in the high 80's for the meet..

Kera Riley - Janesville Craig leg 1

Molly Haag - Middleton leg 1

Bailey Weiland Madison West leg 1

Abi Anderson- Janesville Craig leg 2

Zaira Mallory-Salgado - Middleton leg 2

Hypatia Newton Madison West Leg 2

Julianna Anderson - Janesville Craig leg 3

Addy Ystenes - Middleton leg 3

Janesville Craig anchor Rylee Coleman

Anchor Rylee Coleman at the finish

Middleton anchor Mia La Rico

Madison West anchor Celia Wallace

Throws coach Joe Frontier from Madison Memorial has a tradition of gathering the throw athletes after competition for a group photo. Above are the discus athletes. The discus was won by Madison Memorial junior Olivia Morgan with a throw of 116' 3. Her win was a big contribution to the team total which gave the Spartans the Conference Championship. Joe's photos capture the intense nature of throwing as well as the fun side of the field events at a meet.

Champion Olivia Morgan


Olivia Morgan

Jessa Alderman from Janesville Craig won the SP event with a distance of 37' 3. She was 2nd in the discus [114' 6]. Alderman's photos were taken by Wisconsin Track Online at an earlier dual meet with Craig and Memorial in which the temperature was about 45 degrees colder.
100m Dash
Finals of the 100m dash L-R: Morgan Cross [Sun Prairie, 5th], Amber Schoville [Janesville Parker, 4th], Champion Alayna West [Madison La Follette, 12.94], Dakota Mitchell [Sun Prairie, 2nd, 12.95], Nevaeh Harden [Madison Memorial, 6th], and Joy Bailey [Verona Area, 3rd, 12.98].

Champion Alayna West

Dakota Mitchell

Joy Bailey

Amber Schoville

Morgan Cross [prelims in the rain]

Nevaeh Harden [prelims in the rain]

100m High Hurdles
100m HH Finals L-R: Audrey Seefeld [Sun Prairie, 2nd, 16.86], Champion Ana Ashworth [Madison Memorial, 15.31], and third place finisher Hayley Kenyon [Janesville Parker, 16.98]. Ashworth has one of the fastest HH times this season. She posted a Top 50 All-Time Athlete performance of 14.55 at the Stoughton Invite on May 6.

Ana Ashworth

Audrey Seefeld

Hayley Kenyon

Elle Seager [Middleton, 4th]

Audrey Braun [Madison Memorial, 5th]

Aubrie DePrey [Sun Prairie, 6th]

200m Dash
In the 200m prelims L-R: Champion Dakota Mitchell [Sun Prairie], Nevaeh Harden [Madison Memorial, 2nd], and Alayna West [Madison La Follette]. In the finals Mitchell edged out Harden 26.46 to 26.65.

Brooke Payne {Janesville Parker, 5th] and Lilly Wepking [Verona Area, 3rd]

Morgan Cross [Sun Prairie, 4th]

Lilian Reiner [Madison East, 6th]

1600m Run
Start of the 1600m Run L-R: Sophia Jiang [Madison Memorial, 4th], Maddie Ruszkiewicz [Middleton, 3rd, 5:16.18], Annika Cutforth [Madison Memorial [2nd, 5:12.12], and Champion Lauren Pansegrau [Middleton, 5:08.85]. Pansegrau is the defending 2021 WIAA D1 State Champion in the 3200m run.

Lauren Pansegrau

Annika Cutforth

Maddie Ruszkiewicz

Sophia Jiang

Kera Riley [Janesville Craig, 5th]

Anna Wickizer [Madison West, 6th]

4x200m Relay
The 2022 Big '8' Champion 4x2 relay team the Spartans from Madison Memorial L-R:
Nevaeh Harden, Ana Ashworth, Hannah Zietlow, and anchor Arianna Eubanks.
L-R: Leadoff runner Nevaeh Harden, Hannah Zietlow gets ready to get the baton from Ana Ashworth, and anchors Arianna Eubanks and Joy Bailey from Verona Area in a photo finish: 1:47.76 to 1:47.98.
High Jump
Above left: Madison La Follette's Claire Ammeraal took second with a jump of 5' 02. Above center: Champion Cassie Siegel [Sun Prairie, 5' 04]. Above right: Sun Prairie high jump coach Mark Martinez congratulates Siegel on her winning jump.
Long Jump

Audrey Seefeld [Sun Prairie, Champion, 16' 07.50]

Mia Riley [Janesville Parker, 2nd, 16' 6.50]

Morgan Cross [Sun Prairie, 3rd, 16' 03]

Kate Bjorklund [Verona Area, 4th]

Callista Williams [Madison Memorial,5th]

Lilly Wepking [Verona Area, 6th]

400m Dash

Champion Mary Kate Lichty [Verona Area, 59.50]

Mya Barnes [Janesville Parker, 2nd]

Awa Phatty [Madison Memorial, 3rd]

Liz Den Daas [Verona Area, 4th]

Jaslyn Gama [Beloit Memorial, 5th]

Morgan DeYoung [Madison Memorial 6th]

4x100m Relay
In the 4x1 relay race Verona Area won a close race against Janesville Parker 51.02 to 51.07. The Verona Area 4x1 L-R: Annika Rufenacht, Ava Maradiaga, Nicole Repka, and anchor Lilly Wepking.
Final Exchange Of The 4x1
300m Low Hurdles

Champion Audrey Braun [Madison Memorial, 47.27]

Ana Ashworth [Madison Memorial, 2nd]

Elle Seager [Middleton, 3rd]

Hayley Kenyon [Janesville Parker, 4th]

Aubrie DePrey [Sun Prairie, 5th]

Audrey Seefeld [Sun Prairie, 6th]

800m Run
800m runners L-R: Tait Haag [Middleton, 4th], Gabriela Lues [Madison La Follette, 3rd, 2;23.03], Maddie Ruszkiewicz [Middleton, 2nd, 2:21.83], and Champion Rylee Coleman [Janesville Craig, 2:18.56].

Coleman, Ruszkiewicz, and Lues - Lap 1

Champion Rylee Coleman

Sophia Jiang [Madison Memorial, 5th]

3200m Run
Start of the 3200m run L-R: Ali McCaughtry [SP, 7th], Natalie Johnson [SP, 6th], Abi Anderson [JC, 5th], Genevieve Nashold [MW, 4th], Zaira Malloy-Salgado [MID, 2nd], Annika Cutforth [MM, 3rd], and Champion Lauren Pansegrau [MID, 10:44.81]. The Pansegrau time is a Top 50 All-Time Athlete performance but she had a better time at the 2021 Distance Night in Palentine [IL] meet where she recorded a 10:13.91.

Lauren Pansegrau

Lauren Pansegrau

Cutforth, Malloy-Salgado, and Nashold

Pole Vault

Champion Audrey Seefeld [SP, 10' 6]

Sarah Hershberger [MM, 2nd, 10' 6]

Amber Schoville [JP, 3rd, 10' 6]

Natalia Figuora [SP, 4th]

Lilian Reiner [ME, 5th]

Mazelle Passmore [MW, 6th]