2012 WIAA Track And Field Championships: RELAYS

Friday, June 1 and Saturday, June 2, 2012: Veterans Memorial Stadium @ UW-La Crosse. Results

Sectional weather conditions played havoc with seed times. However it is up to the athletes to respond to any condition. The Neenah 4x8 was in heat 1 of 2 but that did not stop them from breaking a record of 9:03.38 set by the Marinette 4x8 consisting of Suzi St. Clair, Jodi Bolen, Janet Westphal, and Jeni Westphal. The Rockets from Neenah had one more sister though and sped to a time of 9:00.42 to break the old record set in 1994.

Above L-R: Claire Knaus [JR], Jennifer Parker [SO], Jessica Parker [SO], and anchor Alison Parker [JR].

Above 4x8 medalists L-R: Pittsville [6th], Assumption [4th], Elmwood-Plum City, champion St. Mary's Springs, Flambeau [3rd], and Darlington [5th].

The Saint Mary's Springs 4x8 set a new record by recording a time of 9:37.64

This broke the old record of 9:39.67 set by Samantha Nelson, Megan Anderson, Sarah Knauber, and Calla Karl from Frederic in 2009.

The St. Mary's Springs runners were Grace Meurer [above left, SR], Abby Busse [above right, JR], Elaina Meurer [below left, SR], and anchor Liz Bohn [below right, ninth grader]. Simialr to Neenah, Springs was in H1 of two heats of the 4x8.

Above L-R: 4x8 relay teams Verona [6th], Oconomowoc [4th], Arrowhead [2nd], champion Neenah, Wausau West [3rd], and Bay Port [5th].

One of the oldest State Meets in America got underway in a grand fashion when Neenah set the All-Division 4x8 record. Relay members are pictured at the end of the 4x8 as meet starter Loren Homb from Monroe looks on.

Neenah began the two day meet with a record and the Tigers from Milwaukee Riverside ended the meet with a record in the 4x4. Milwaukee Bradley Technical set the old record of 3:53.64 in the prelims of the 2010 State Meet. The Tech runners were Elexis Fuller-Stewart, Tahje Whitley, Dinah Watts, and Tiffany Matthews. Riverside blazed to a 3:53.07 clocking to establish a new record.

Above L-R: Angel Malone [ninth grader], Helen Thames [ninth grader], Valerie Thames [JR], and anchor Crystal Malone [JR].

Riversides win in the 4x4 moved them past Plymouth in the point standings and gave Riverside a D1 State Team Championship.

Above 2nd leg 4x2 runners L-R: Tore Washa [9, Logan] and Ashley Holicek [12, Hamilton]

La Crosse Logan won the 4x2 in 1:41.03. Above: Anchors Amber Sanderson from Logan and Jessica Rupnow from Sussex Hamilton head into the straighaway.

Left - clockwise from top left: Imani Paul, Amber Sanderson, Chloe Malin, and Tore Washa.

The Milwaukee King 4x1 posted a 48.75 to win the 4x1. Above right: Anchor Alexis Redd-Triggs takes the baton from Jaia Howard. Team members above left clockwise from top left: Marissa Cosey, Sydnee Matthew, Alexis Redd-Triggs, and Jaia Howard. All of the King 4x1 relay runners are sophomores.Below 4x1 relay teams that medaled L-R: Verona [5th], Wisconsin Lutheran [3rd], champion Milwaukee King, Middleton [2nd], Divine Savior Holy Angels [4th], and Kimberly [6th].

Platteville won the D2 4x8 with a time of 9:21.84. Relay runners on the left from top left: Julia Lawinger, Tricia Serres, Allie Serres, and Laura Donovan. Lawinger had a 'monster' 3rd leg as Platteville just missed the record by 17/100 ths of a second.

4x8 relay runners L-R: Julia Lawinger [11, Platteville], Lauren Peters [9, Freedom], Kristen Linzmeier [11, Chilton], Liz Smits [12, McFarland], Liz Bloy [11, Freedom], and Platteville anchor Tricia Serres [SR].

Platteville's posted a 4:01.24 to win the D2 4x4: Above left: Leadoff runner Tricia Serres. Above right: Second leg runner Allie Serres. Below left: Julia Lawinger ran the third leg while Laura Donovan was the anchor [below right].

Above: Final exchange of the D2 4x1

Only 6/100ths of a second separated second place Arcadia from D2 4x2 Champion Green Bay Notre Dame. 4x2 teams above L-R: Sugar River [Belleville-New Glarus, 5th], Shorewood [3rd], champion Green Bay Notre Dame, Silver Medal winner Arcadia, Whitewater [4th], and McFarland [6th].

Notre Dame teammembers were Melaina Rapisarda, Sabrina Rapisarda, Christina Stevenson, and anchor Malorri Walcyzk.

Below: Sabrina Rapisarda [Notre Dame] and Simone Sherard [Brown Deer] running leg 2 of the 4x2.

Right: Notre Dame 4x2 anchor Malorri Walcyzk.

Xavier was the 2011 4x1 champion and appeared ready to repeat.

Xavier's Paige Van Alsten [above] hands the baton to anchor Kate Weyenberg as Osceola [green jersey] runner Rachael Mickelson prepares to get the baton to anchor Aimee Rice-Strand.

Rice-Strand took the baton and in a stunning display of speed crossed the finish line 6/10ths of a second ahead of Xavier.

The Osceola winning time of 49.28 erased the old record of 49.35 set by the Brown Deer 4x1 consisting of Sydney Nelson, Ariel Kinlow, Chelsea Stingley, and Kayan Senaya in 2008.

Osceola 4x1 relay runners pictured on the left clockwise from top left: Rachael Mickelson [SR], Alexa Stokes [JR], Aimee Rice Strand [SO], and Sydney Rossow [SR].

Below 4x1 medalists L-R: Whitewater [5th], Catholic Memorial [3rd], champion Osceola, Xavier [2nd], Somerset [4th], and Chilton [6th].

Edgar won the 4x2 relay with a time of 1:44.48. Team members on the left clockwise from top left:
  • Faryn Wirkus
  • Holly Denfield
  • Kelsey Steinke
  • Anchor Jena Heidmann

Above: The Edgar 4x4 set a new record in preliminaries with a time of 3:58.312. This broke the old record of 3:58.43 set by Edgar in 2010 with Hannah Pospyhalla, Holly Denfield, Tessa Thurs, and Elizabeth Pospyhalla.

Above new record holders L-R: Jena Heidman, Holly Denfield, Tessa Thurs, and anchor Elizabeth Pospyhalla.

Above 4x4 relay runners L-R: Heather VonHoltum [11, Elmwood-Plum City], Amy Jorgenson [12,Darlington], Hannah Huffman [12, Darlington], and Claire Scott [11, Darlington]. In the finals Edgar won with a 4:01.50 while Darlington finished second in 4:05.05.

Above 4x2 relay runners L-R: Ugo Aquwa [9, Brookfield Academy], Sara Herzog [11, Manitowoc Lutheran], Rachel Roehl [9, Marshfield Columbus Catholic], and Jenna Ladsten [11, Blair-Taylor].

In 2010 Edgar set the 4x1 relay record with a time of 49.36. The 2010 team consisted of Jena Heidmann, Emily Dittman, Faryn Wirkus, and Kira Dittman.

This year the 4x1 team of [above left clockwise from top left] Faryn Wirkus [SR], Kira Dittman [JR], Kelsey Steinke [SR], amd Jena Heidmann [SR] set a new record of 49.26 in preliminaries and then broke that record in finals with a time of 49.21.

Below left: Faryn Wirkus running leg 2 of the 4x2.

Below right: 4x2 Anchor Jena Heidmann.

Above 4x1 medalists L-R: Lena-St. Thomas Academy [5th], Brookfield Academy [3rd], champion Edgar, Wild Rose [2nd], Burlington Catholic Central [4th], and Shell Lake [6th].