Scholar Athletes And Track And Field

Thursday, April 14, 2016, WIAA Press Release.


The WIAA has announced that thirty-two senior students attending Wisconsin public and private high schoolshave been named winners of the WIAA Scholar Athlete Award for 2015. The awards are presented by the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association. The program was launched in 1984 to honor scholastic and athletic excellence.
Sixteen boys and sixteen girls are recognized each year at an award ceremony held each spring, in Wausau. The WIAA Scholar Athlete Award program has been underwritten by Marshfield Clinic, which will host the awards ceremony for the 32 statewide winners at the Jefferson Street Inn in Wausau.

Every year, each of the WIAA member high schools in the state can nominate one boy and one girl for the Scholar Athlete honors. Award history 1999-2016. The track and field athletes shown below have been honored as Scholar-Athletes by the WIAA. This year more than 820 seniors were nominated for the 2016 WIAA Scholar Athlete Award by 420 high schools throughout the state.

This feature highlights WIAA Scholar Athletes who are track and field athletes for the 2016 season.

Please note: All photos by Dave Figi except the Alyssa Kavajecz composite in which the

HJ photo is by Brigid J. Ripley and the insert photogrpah is by Jen Jensen

Wisconsin Track Online Feature For 2016

In addition Alyssa Kavajecz ~ South Shore, Briana Nelson ~ Brookwood and Kelly Tramburg ~ Fall River are Scholar Athletes who participated in track and field prior to their senior year.

Katie Hietpas ~ Sun Prairie

Madison Marko ~ Kenosha Bradford

Kaitlyn Kaiser ~ Cuba City

Aubrey Roberts ~ Eau Claire Memorial

Alicia Monson ~ Amery

Katrina Santos ~ East Troy

Brittany Rhyner ~ Dodgeville/Mineral Point

Alyssa Kavajecz ~ South Shore

Katie Hietpas at the WIAA Scholar Athlete awards presentation in Wausau, April 2016

Above L-R: Coach Paul Frank the distance coach for the Sun Prairie Track and Field Team, Katie, and Sun Prairie Cross County Coach Matt Roe.

Photo provided by Matt Roe