Returning D3 State Meet Qualifiers

Friday, January 1, 2021. WIAA. 2019 Results

2021 Preseason D3 Preview, Friday, January 1, 2021

Wheel Chair Events | D1 2019 State Qualifiers | D2 2019 State Qualifiers | D3 2019 State Qualifiers | Home

D3 WIAA Field | D3 WIAA Relays | D3 WIAA Track Dash | D3 WIAA Track Hurdle | D3 WIAA Track Run

Who Will Fill The Lanes For 2021?

A Look Back: D3 Returnees From The 2019 WIAA State Meet
WIAA 2020 Season was canceled by the COVID-19 crisis

WIAA 2019 D3 Champions Hannah Constable [400m, 800m , Johnson Creek 2020 Grad], Haley Durst [100m, Ithaca/Weston 2019 Grad], Jordan Hutzler [300m LH, Rio 2019 Grad], Aubrey Schoeneman [SP, Mercer 2020 Grad], Brinley Wood [HJ, Cuba City 2019 Grad], Hannah Zastrow [HH, Spencer 2020 Grad] and Leah Zemke [Discus, Marathon 2020 Grad] have graduated.

The 2021 Preview will highlight Champions from 5, 10, and 15 years ago. Molly Seidel [left] one of the D3 Champions in the running events from 10 years ago has qualified for the 2020-21 Olympics. In 1991 North Crawford runner Heather Murphy set the D3 1600m record [5:01.31]. At the 2011 WIAA State Meet University Lake School Junior Molly Seidel picked up the pace early and left no doubt about her intentions. Seidel posted a 4:51.54 to set a new D3 1600m run record. Seidel followed her record setting 1600m run on Friday by breaking a record she set in the 3200m run at the 2010 State Meet. Seidel's old 3200m record was 10:39.88. Her time in the 2011 D3 3200m run was 10:33.15 establishing a new D3 3200m run record. Seidel holds the All-Time Top 50 mark in the 3200m run of 10:09.89. Seidel Olympic Team USA Profile.

The Preview gives a look at many of the athletes who competed at the 2019 WIAA State Meet. Also, previous champions and record holders are noted. The D3 Gold Medal winners pictured below will return in 2021 to defend the titles they won at the 2019 WIAA State Meet.

Returning Individual Champions From 2019

L-R: Miranda Firari [Dodgeland, PV], Kayci Martensen [BSMS, 1600m, 3200m],
Jessica Brueggeman [Royall, LJ, TJ], and Delany McFadden, [ Ozaukee, 200m].

Mackenzie Heyroth from D2 Lodi was honored as The WISTCA 2019 Female Athlete of the Year. At the 2019 WIAA State Meet she set records in the 100m High Hurdles and 300m Low Hurdle events. In addition she was a member of the Gold Medal winning Lodi 4x400m relay team.
Former 2020 D3 school and D3 2019 State Team Champion Aquinas will again compete in the D3 tournament series. Also, Menominee Indian and Oostburg have moved to the D2 tournament series. Former D2 schools Bonduel, Cedar Grove-Belgium, and Milwaukee Lifelong Learning now will compete in the D3 tournament series.. The 2021 WIAA tournament assignments can be found at: D1 | D2 | D3.
Note - Photos in the feature may be archived photographs and not from the 2019 WIAA State Meet

D3 Returning 2019 WISTCA All-State Athletes

To qualify for the Wisconsin Track Coaches Association All-State Team, athletes had to finish in the top six for all three divisions combined in the finals at the WIAA State Meet.
Note - Grades indicated are for the 2020-2021 school year.

Girls 800 Meter Run: 6 Kayci Martensen JR Benton-Scales Mound-Shullsburg 2:15.07.

Girls 3200 Meter Run: 4 Kayci Martensen JR Benton-Scales Mound-Shullsburg 10:48.84.

Girls Long Jump: 2 Jessica Brueggeman SR Royall 18-08.25.

Girls Triple Jump: 2 Jessica Brueggeman SR Royall 38-09.75.