D2 Returning 2016 State Meet Qualifiers

Friday and Saturday, June 3-4, 2016. D2 Results


2017 Preseason D2 Preview: Tuesday, January 1, 2017

Wheel Chair Events | D1 2016 State Qualifiers | D2 2016 State Qualifiers | D3 2016 State Qualifiers

D2 WIAA Field | D2 WIAA Relays | D2 WIAA Track Dash | D2 WIAA Track Hurdle | D2 WIAA Track Run | Home

Wisconsin Track Online Feature For 2017

A Look Back: D2 Returnees From The 2016 WIAA State Meet

Division 2 Champions Sydney Currie [Cambridge, 800m Run], Alicia Monson [Amery, 3200m Run], and Mikaela Grant [Jefferson, 100m High Hurdles, Long Jump] have graduated.

Sydney Currie set a 800m run record by posting a 2:11.80. This broke the old record of 2:12.20 set by Marcia Taddy [Two Rivers, 2002].

Audrey Janik who won the 1600m run and Hailey Orlowski Pole Vault Champion will return for 2017. However their team Wisconsin Lutheran is now in the D1 tournament series for 2017.

Division 2 athletes Ja'Cey Simmons [Milwaukee Lutheran 100m and 200m Dash Events], Abbey Zastrow [Arcadia, 400m Dash], Jordan Hirsbrunner [Monroe, 300m Low Hurdles], all four runners of the Wittenberg-Birnamwood 4x400m relay team [Paige Norrbom, Kylie Linke, Emily Norrbom, and Maddy Pietz], all four runners of the Walworth Big Foot 4x800m relay team [Gloria Esarco , Alexandria Demco, Grace Gillingham , Brooke Wellhausen], Emily Scott [Lakeland Union, High Jump], two time champion Kyra Arendt [Bloomer, Triple Jump], Tess Keyzers [Little Chute, Shot Put], and Destinee Haas [Baldwin-Woodville, Discus] return to defend the titles they won in 2016

Ja'Cey Simmons set a record in the 200m dash by racing to a time of 24.63 in the preliminaries. This broke the old record of 24.64 set by Whitefish Bay Dominican's Deysha Smith-Jenkins in 2011.

Tess Keyzers set a new D2 record in the Shot Put with a throw of 47' 03.00. This broke the old record of 45' 01.50 set by Amanda Nechuta from Mosinee in 2001.

The Catholic Memorial quartet of Abby Finnegan [graduated], Tatum Straw, Josie Schrubbe, and anchor Kathleen Hirsch set a record by racing to a 49.03 in the finals of the 4x100m relay event. This broke the old record of 49.17 set in the prelims by Catholic Memorial [Renee Bixby, Madeline Davis, Andrea Sullivan, and anchor Erin Jaynes] at the 2014 State Meet.

The Wittenberg-Birnamwood 4x400m relay team [Paige Norrbom, Kylie Linke, Emily Norrbom, and anchor Maddy Pietz] set a new record in the D2 4x400 relay event by posting a 3:57.64 in the prelims and then broke this record with a time of 3:56.66 in the finals. The old record of 3:58.13 was set in 2004 by Columbus [Danielle Miller, Christie Jahnke, Heather Miller, and anchor Emily Raymond]. Heather Miller competed in the 2016 Olympics held in Rio de Janeiro.

2016 D1 schools Antigo and Mount Horeb will now compete in the D2 tournament series during the 2017 series.

2016 D2 schools Grafton and Wisconsin Lutheran will now compete as D1 schools for 2017.

Cambridge, Chequamegon, and Mishicot which competed in the 2016 D2 tournament series will now compete in D3 during the 2017 season. Also, 2016 D3 schools Cadott, Fall Creek, Hope Christian [Milwaukee], Menominee Indian, Unity, and Weyauwega-Fremont are now in the D2 tournament series.

Who Will Fill The Lanes For 2017?

A SPECIAL THANK YOU to the athletes who will represent their schools in track and field. When you step on the track, into the throwing ring, or on the runway you perform in front of your peers and others in attendance. Not every student is willing to take that risk. Despite your finish you will have performed in the arena of real life. You will put your skills up against other athletes and let the clock or measuring tape be the judge. Congratulations on taking the risk! And congratulations on each of the PR's that you will attain as the season evolves. Track and field athletes are a very special asset to each of their school communities. There will be one State Champion in each of the events at La Crosse but you are all champions for performing in a great sport. This website is one small attempt to celebrate the accomplishments of track and field athletes in Wisconsin. D Figi, January 1, 2017.

D2 Returning All-State Athletes

[Athlete, 2016-2017 year in school, school, and performance]

To qualify for the Wisconsin Track Coaches Association All-State Team, athletes had to finish in the top six for all three divisions combined in the finals at the WIAA 2015 State Meet:

100 Meter Dash: Ja'Cey Simmons SO Milwaukee Lutheran 12.25 and Maddy Pietz JR Wittenberg-Birnamwood 12.37.

200 Meter Dash: Ja'Cey Simmons SO Milwaukee Lutheran 24.91.

3200 Meter Run: Dana Feyen SO Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau 10:48.39.

300 Meter Hurdles: Jordan Hirsbrunnner JR Monroe 43.94.

High Jump: Emily Scott JR Lakeland 5-06.00, Brooke Blazei JR Martin Luther 5-05.00, and Hope Schneider JR East Troy 5-05.00.

Triple Jump: Kyra Arendt JR Bloomer 37-11.00.

Shot Put: Tess Keyzers JR Little Chute 47-03.00.

Discus Throw: Destinee Haas JR Baldwin-Woodville 134-02.

The above summary of the 2016 season does not include this years ninth grade class. It will be interesting to see which ninth grade athletes made their presence known via the 2017 Honor Roll.