Friday, June 3 and Saturday, June 4, 2022: Veterans Memorial Field @ UW-La Crosse. Results: All | D1 | D2 | D3 | WC
Dash | Hurdle | Run | Relays | Jumps | Throws | Team | WC


Senior Roisin Willis from Stevens Point Area Senior High School gave a capacity crowd all they could ever want in a race. From the start she left no doubt about her goal. In 1985 Stevens Point's Suzy Favor had set the old 800m record of 2:09.88. That record stood until 2015 when Whitefish Bay runner Camille Davre posted a 2:09.22. Four years later as a ninth grader Willis raced to a 2:05.68 clocking at the 2019 WIAA State Meet to set a new record. COVID canceled the 2020 meet and in 2021 Willis missed the State Meet as she competed in the Olympic Trials in Eugene, Oregon. This year at the State Meet she posted a 2:00.03 time to set a new 800m record in D1. This time was also the fastest 800m ever by an athlete in a high school only competition [Source-Track & Field News]. Willis will compete for the Cardinals of Stanford University next season but in her final individual high school race she gave everyone at the meet a lifelong memory of a great track performance. Followup: On Saturday, June 11, Kristie Schoffield from Boise State University won the NCAA outdoor 800m championship at Hayward Field on the campus of Oregon University in Eugene in a time of 2:01.09.

On June 30, 2022, Gatorade announced that Willis was chosen as their Girls Track And Field Player Of The Year for Wisconsin. On August 3, 2022, in Cali, Columbia at the U20 World Champiohsips Willis set a Championship Record with a winning time of 1:59.13.

D3 800m Run
Senior Kayci Martensen [#1, Benton-Scales Mound-Shullsburg] is shown leading the 800m in lap 1. She posted a 2:17.47 to successfully defend the 800m Championship she won in 2021. Other runners L-R: Ashley Chilson [Regis, 10th], Raquel Reuter [Darlington, 14th], Kaylee Peterson [Ithaca/Weston, 5th], Jenna Anders [Fall Creek, 3rd], Anelise Egge [Kickapoo/La Farge, 4th], Autumn Michalski [Chequamegon, 2nd], Mallory Olmstad [Lancaster, 6th], and Martensen.

Kayci Martenson

Autumn Michalski

Jenna Anders

Anelise Egge

Kaylee Peterson

Mallory Olmstead

D3 1600m Run
Kayci Martensen has won the 1600m Gold Medal at the 2019 and 2021 meets and successfully defended her title by running to a winning time of 4:57.05. Other runners L-R: Autumn Michalski [#11, Chequamegon, 4th], Abby Bartel [Weyauwega-Fremont, 6th], Erin Moore [Lourdes Academy, 3rd], Sophia Bablitch [Rosholt, 2nd], and Martensen.

Kayci Martensen

Sophia Bablitch

Erin Moore

Autumn Michalski

Jenna Anders

Abby Bartel

D3 3200m Run
For the second year in a row Kayci Martensen [BSMS] won all three distance races. She won this years event in 10:59.07. Runners L-R: Ella Whinney [Madison Tri-Op, 9th], Leah Patterson [Valley Christian, 5th], Abby Bartel [Weyauwega-Fremont, 3rd], Martensen, and Royall's Marah Gruen [8th].

Kayci Martensen

Autumn Michalski [Chequamegon, 2nd]

Abby Bartel

Brooklyn Luebke [Manitowoc Lutheran, 4th]

Leah Patterson

Kate Buerger [University Lake School, 6th]

D2 800m Run
Repeat 800om Champion Nora Gremban from the Northland Pines Eagles defended the 800m Championship she won in 2021 by posting a 2:12.40. Isabella Lozier from the Greyhounds of Shorewood High School was 2nd in 2:13.67 while Little Chute's Jessica Wilson was 3rd.

Nora Gremban

Isabella Lozier

Jessica Wilson

Rachel Ulrich [Osceola, 4th]

Annika elliott [Shorewood, 5th]

Medford Area's Meredith Richter [6th]

D2 1600m Run
Nora Gremban from Northland Pines repeated as the 1600m D2 Champion with a time of 5:01.62

Nora Gremban

Fran Peterson [Barron, 2nd]

Mya Hartjes [Univ. Sch. of Milwaukee, 3rd]

Rachel Ulrich [Osceola, 4th]

Mikaela Helling [Two Rivers, 5th]

Xavier's Lilie Fouts was 6th

D2 3200m Run
D2 3200m runners L-R: Anna Gallagher [Two Rivers, 7th], Lilie Fouts [#5, Xavier, 5th], Fran Peterson [#4, Barron, Champion in 10:49.77], Bella Grenier [#3, University School of Milwaukee, 6th], Mikaela Helling [#2, Two Rivers, 3rd], and Faith Wehrman [#1, New Berlin Eisenhower, 2nd]

Fran Peterson

Faith Wehrman

Mikaela Helling

Mya Hartjes [USM, 4th]

Lilie Fouts

Bella Grenier

D1 800m Run
The start of the record setting 800m race. Runners L-R: Berkeley Krell [Waukesha West, 11th], Rebecca Belany [Hudson, 7th], Elizabeth Schmidt [Merrill, 3rd], and Gold Medal winner Roisin Willis from SPASH who was timed in 2:00.03 to set a new D1 record.

Roisin Willis -last 100 meters

Roisin Willis

Roisin Willis - 30 meters to go

Janesville Craig's Rylee Coleman [ 2nd, 2:14.03]

Elizabeth Schmidt

Rachel Helm [Muskego, 4th]

Alexa Kinas [Kaukauna, 5th]

Peyton Weiss [Milwaukee Rufus King, 6th]

Coleman, Helm, and Schmidt - lap 1

D1 1600m Run
Monona Grove ninth grader Mackenzie Babcock won the Gold Medal in the D1 1600m with a time of 4:56.76
1600m runners with 30 meters to go L-R: Sara Mlodik [DC Everest, 6th], Zaira Malloy-Salgado [#6, Middleton, 5th], West De Pere's Kate Schmoll [4th], Merrill's Elizabeth Schmidt [2nd], and Lauren Pansegrau [Middleton, 3rd].
D1 3200m Run
The 3200m race was run on Friday with the 800 and 1600 races on Saturday. In lap 1 of the 3200m Gold Medal winner Zaira Malloy-Salgado [#3, Middleton] is on the inside of the lead pack of runners. The first 7 runners in the D1 3200m race all had times that will make the Top 50 All-Time Athletes list in that event. The 50th best time on the All-time 3200m list as of June 2 was 10:47.56.

Zaire Malloy-Salgado [1st, 10:32.25]

Isabella Jacobsen [Menomonie, 2nd, 10:36.57]

Summer Schuster [Slinger, 3rd, 10:37.70]

Kate Schmoll [West De Pere, 4th, 10:43.67]

Annika Cutforth [Madison Memorial, 5th, 10:44.26]

Noelle Junig [Muskego, 6th, 10:46.68]